Home Reviews Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 review: Premium Samsung on your wrist. Galaxy watch 3 titanium
Reviews

Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 review: Premium Samsung on your wrist. Galaxy watch 3 titanium

Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 review: Premium Samsung on your wrist

Bottom line: The Galaxy Watch 3 offers stunning hardware and a variety of health-focused features, including an EKG and blood pressure sensor. It doesn’t have the widest third-party app support, but you’ll get good battery life, a bright display, and Samsung’s zippy Tizen OS software.

Pros

  • Gorgeous classic design
  • Satisfying rotating bezel
  • Solid battery life
  • EKG support is incoming
  • Tizen is generally a great interface

Cons

  • – App support is still lacking
  • – Tizen OS is on borrowed time
  • – Slow, clunky charger
  • – No MST for Samsung Pay

Why you can trust Android Central

Our expert reviewers spend hours testing and comparing products and services so you can choose the best for you. Find out more about how we test.

Design compromises are one of the most recurring issues that smartwatches have to deal with. After all, it’s hard to cram all of the various specs and sensors that make these tiny wrist computers so functional into something you’d want to wear out. The result is usually a thick, unattractive gadget that costs as much as a nice traditional watch, with the double whammy of needing to be charged once a day.

Sadly, even in some of the best Android smartwatches, those hardware tradeoffs are met with equally cumbersome software in the form of Wear OS, which continues to be a slow-moving disaster, limiting the number of compelling options on the Android side. However, with the introduction of the Galaxy Watch 4 and the new Wear OS 3, things will begin to get more interesting.

But Samsung does things a little differently. The Galaxy Watch line uses the company’s homegrown Tizen software rather than Wear OS and features hardware niceties like circular displays and rotating bezels for navigating through the interface. The Galaxy Watch 3 also carries over the Watch Active line’s FOCUS on health and fitness and finally brings long-awaited support for some advanced physiological readings.

Samsung Galaxy Watch 3: Pricing availability

The Galaxy Watch 3 was announced on August 5, 2020 alongside the Galaxy Note 20, Note 20 Ultra, Tab S7, Tab S7, Z Fold 2, and Galaxy Buds Live (Samsung had a busy year!), and released the next day, August 6.

Available in several configurations, consumers can choose between 41mm and 45mm sizes, which feature essentially the same specs, including the Exynos 9110 and 8GB of internal storage. At launch, the sizes started at 399.99 and 429.99, respectively, with an optional titanium variant of the 45mm model priced at 599.99 — though as of January 2022, you can many of the styles on sale starting from around 240. Additionally, Samsung offers an LTE-capable variant of either size at a 50 premium.

The 41mm Galaxy Watch 3 is available in Mystic Bronze or Mystic Silver, while the 45mm swaps the Mystic Bronze option for Mystic Black. The Galaxy Watch 3 Titanium is only available in Mystic Black and swaps the included leather Band with a metal one.

Samsung Galaxy Watch 3: What I love

The Galaxy Watch 3 has pretty stunning hardware as far as smartwatches go. Made from stainless steel (or titanium, depending on the version you buy, the casing feels just as great as it looks. It’s a bit on the thicker side, though; Samsung markets the Watch 3 as being 14% thinner than the original Galaxy Watch, but the 41mm review unit I was sent is still over 11mm thick. It’s even slightly thicker than the 45mm version since it needs to cram all of the same sensors into a smaller chassis.

Still, I love how small of a footprint Samsung was able to give this watch, as it takes up even less space on my wrist than the analog watch I typically wear. I’m also a sucker for leather bands and have zero complaints with the one that comes included in the box — though if you’re into other materials like metal or silicone, you can easily swap it out with a standard 20mm Band (22mm if you opt for the 45mm version).

Great hardware and looks are hugely important on a smartwatch — after all, watches are just as much an accessory as they are a utility — but they don’t add up to much if the software isn’t equally good. Luckily, Tizen mostly holds up. Since Samsung has moved to Wear OS starting with the Galaxy Watch 4, Tizen will stop getting updates down the line.

Let’s talk about that Tizen software for a second, though. I really like the general interface, but third-party app support is still lacking despite Samsung’s efforts. Spotify is the only app on my phone that populated an app on the Watch 3. I’ve also found that Spotify app to be hugely unreliable, often failing to control my music playback properly.

If you’re not into the Galaxy Watch 3 or just don’t like shoveling out a few hundred dollars to get one a watch with software with numbered days, the first option to consider is Samsung’s own Wear OS option — the Galaxy Watch 4 series. It offers two options, the standard Galaxy Watch 4 that borrows a lot from the Galaxy Watch Active 2, and the Galaxy Watch 4 Classic, which stays more faithful to the Galaxy Watch 3.

Regardless of which of the new watch’s you choose, you’ll get some impressive health tracking options. You get ECG, heart rate, blood oxygen monitoring with both options, but you also pick up a new BIA sensor. This feature gives deeper insights into your overall health by evaluating your body composition.

If you are interested in options outside of Samsung, consider the Fossil Gen 6. Gen 6 series features an understated design and a rotating crown for interfacing with the software, similar to Samsung’s rotating bezel. You even get some of the same features, including heart rate monitoring and basic fitness tracking.

Who it isn’t for

The Galaxy Watch 3 is equal parts gorgeous and functional, and its collection of health-focused features put it in direct competition with the likes of brands like Garmin and Apple. The rotating bezel is undoubtedly the best (and most fun) way to interact with a smartwatch without obfuscating the screen. Samsung’s Tizen OS is fluid, responsive, and well-tailored for the circular display, but it will not be around for much longer.

samsung, galaxy, watch, review, premium

The weak third-party network of apps could be a deal-breaker for some, but Samsung packs a lot of features into the watch, to begin with, and the Watch 3 performs its core function as a notification aggregator well. You’ll get good battery life (so long as you leave the always-on display feature off), a sharp display that’s bright enough to use outdoors without a hitch, and fantastic hardware with a stylish leather Band that’s easy to swap out if you prefer.

There are plenty of great Wear OS alternatives available at lower price points, which benefit from a wider selection of third-party apps. Still, in most cases, aside from a few outliers, you’ll be giving up some combination of hardware polish and fitness sensors. Even though the Galaxy Watch 3 won’t be supported forever, it is an excellent-looking watch with a solid set of features until that day comes.

Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 41mm 4GB

The Galaxy Watch 3 offers stunning hardware and a variety of health-focused features, including an EKG and blood pressure sensor.

Review Changelog, January 2022

This article was originally published in August 2020. It was updated in January 2022 with the following changes.

  • Added information about Tizen’s end of support.
  • Included mention of the new Samsung Galaxy Watch 4 and Wear OS 3.
  • Updated competition section.

It was updated in April 2021 with the following changes.

  • Updated pricing in the product boxes and body text.
  • Added more information on the rollout of EKG and SpO2 support in the U.S.
  • Updated the competition section with reference to the Fossil Gen 5E and current pricing.

The Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 brings back the rotating bezel — plus a few other tricks

Tom’s Guide Verdict

The Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 (399) brings a rotating bezel, ECG monitoring and fall detection right to your wrist. It’s the best Android lifestyle smartwatch you can get now.

Pros

  • Slimmer design than the original
  • Physical rotating bezel is back
  • FDA-approved ECG readings

Cons

Why you can trust Tom’s Guide?

Our writers and editors spend hours analyzing and reviewing products, services, and apps to help find what’s best for you. Find out more about how we test, analyze, and rate.

The Samsung Galaxy Watch 3’s fan-favorite bezel — the rotating bow on a beautifully-packaged, 399 smartwatch — is every bit as satisfying as it seems.

Though fidget-swiveling is great, life-saving health features like an FDA-approved ECG sensor and trip detection are better. Tack on SpO2 and VO2 Max readings, a vast library of watch faces and slimmed down design, and Samsung found a winner in this wearable

At the time it launched, there was no question this was the best smartwatch for Android you could buy. The Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 isn’t the newest Samsung smartwatch, though. Last year, the company announced the Samsung Galaxy Watch 4 and Samsung Galaxy Watch 4 Classic, which had a refreshed design, a 3-in-1 health sensor for measuring heart rate, taking ECGs and reading body composition, and a new WearOS operating system. Our guide to the Samsung Galaxy Watch 4 vs. Galaxy Watch 3 has more on the key upgrades.

Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 Review

But more recently, the Samsung Galaxy Watch 5 lineup has arrived. Our Samsung Galaxy Watch 5 review and Samsung Galaxy Watch 5 Pro review have everything you’ll want to know about the latest devices. Be sure to check out the differences between the Samsung Galaxy Watch 5 vs. Galaxy Watch 5 Pro, too.

Though it’s been replace, this Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 review explains how this new contender stacked up against the best smartwatches, as well as the Apple Watch Series 6, which launched the same year.

Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 price and availability

Starting price: 399 Display: 1.2 inches/1.4 inches Colors: Mystic Bronze, Mystic Black, Mystic White Size: 41 x 42.5 x 11.3 mm/45 x 46.2 x 11.1 mm RAM: 1GB Storage: 8GB Battery: 247 mAh / 340 mAh Durability: 5ATM IP68 OS: Tizen 5.5 Features: HRM, SpO2, VO2 Max, ECG, blood pressure monitoring

The Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 went on sale on August 6, 2020. Those interested in picking the new smartwatch have a few sizes and variations to choose from.

The starting Galaxy Watch 3 price of 399 will get you the 41mm model in either Mystic Silver or Mystic Bronze. (The latter option is Samsung’s signature color, matching the Samsung Galaxy Note 20 Ultra and Samsung Galaxy Buds Live, which launched at the same time).

The larger, 45mm model starts at 429 and comes in Mystic Black or Mystic Silver. It’s offered in a titanium variant as well, though that will come at a premium. And if you want your Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 with LTE so it can make phone calls and respond to messages when your smartphone is out of Bluetooth range, expect to add 50 to the base price.

Whichever model you pick, we may be able to knock a few dollars off the price with our Samsung promo codes.

Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 review: Design

The bezel is back, baby. When we tested the mechanism during our original Samsung Galaxy Watch review, we found the physical bezel useful and fun. Spinning the dial worked well with both side buttons and offered a great alternative to swiping or trying to poke at the circular display with our finger.

The bezel holds up a second time around, but feels even better because Samsung slimmed down the Galaxy Watch 3. It’s 8% smaller, 14% thinner and 15% lighter than the first Galaxy Watch. We’re talking millimeters here, but when it comes to something you wear on your wrist, the difference is noticeable.

Still, the 1.7-ounce, 41mm Mystic Bronze model I tested looks chunky compared to my Apple Watch 5. The trade-off is that it looks more like a traditional watch than a high-tech one. Whereas I might ditch my Apple Watch for a nice dinner or date night, the Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 holds its own as a stylish accessory.

Better yet, the Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 comes with genuine leather straps that match the casing’s color and contribute a more elevated aesthetic compared to the fitness-focused Samsung Galaxy Watch 2. But the leather doesn’t fare well against sweat or water, so I’d swap them for sportier ones if I were to continue using the Galaxy Watch 3 as my daily driver.

Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 review: Display and watch faces

The Samsung Galaxy Watch 3’s 360 x 360-pixel screen is sharp, bright enough to see in direct sunlight and always-on, but that’s not what caught my interest.

I’ll admit, Apple Watch complications stress me out. I feel forced to use a combination of five different faces at once to see everything I could need throughout the day, and even then I wish there were more options. Enter the Galaxy Watch 3 with 80,000 different watch-faces and 40 complications from which to choose.

It took me some time to figure out which combination of design and data brought me comfort on the Galaxy Watch 3, but I’m a sucker for the weather-centric backgrounds. I can’t explain why I never check the forecast before leaving the house, so if seeing rain animations on my wrist doesn’t help, nothing will.

Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 review: Performance

Samsung’s Tizen software still trails behind Apple’s watchOS, but is a significant improvement from Google’s fickle Wear OS. Not only are the Galaxy Watch 3’s various menus highly customizable and packed with useful apps, but launching and switching between them feels sharp, too.

Thanks to the bezel, navigation is intuitive, and I relied on it along with the dual buttons to get where I wanted to go. The motion gestures, on the other hand, didn’t really do it for me. When I could get them to work, I felt a little foolish in the process.

What didn’t feel silly is the Galaxy Watch 3’s T9 keyboard, which I relied for texting more often than I thought I would. I know, typing on such a small screen sounds ridiculous, but I appreciated the ability to send messages in cases when I couldn’t use talk to text. I wish the Apple Watch would replace Scribble with a modified, miniature keyboard.

Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 review: Fitness and health features

The Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 can track 40 total activities, and seven can be tracked automatically, meaning you won’t always have to select what kind of exercise you’re doing beforehand. I needed this when my sprightly 85-pound black lab didn’t want to stop for me to launch a walk tracking on our routine treks around our town.

The Galaxy Watch 3’s on-board GPS measured my daily course accurately enough (it’s roughly 1.2 miles, depending how many times the dog wants to go in circles). I had the same experience when I took the watch biking and running, the latter of which was informed by on-demand VO2 Max readings. I’m far from an endurance runner so I didn’t trigger any warnings, but I imagine more dedicated athletes would appreciate this feature during training.

But they might not appreciate the leather straps. I certainly know I didn’t. It felt odd getting them wet with sweat, and I didn’t even consider taking the Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 near a pool despite its 5ATM rating for water resistance. I’d recommend getting silicone bands if you plan to use the Galaxy Watch 3 for anything more than light exercise, or taking a look at one of the best fitness trackers instead.

Still, no matter where you are, the Samsung Galaxy Watch 3’s trip detection sensors will call emergency services on your behalf when it senses you took a hard and sudden fall. Apple Watch has had this feature for a few years, so it’s good to see Samsung catching up.

Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 review: ECG readings and blood pressure monitoring

The Galaxy Watch 3 has a FDA-approved ECG monitor, meaning the new smartwatch will be able to detect signs of atrial fibrillation just like the Apple Watch.

While the Apple Watch’s FDA-approved ECG sensor is old news (it debuted with the Apple Watch Series 4), Samsung has been slow to get its version approved, first earning clearance for the technology on the Galaxy Watch Active 2 in South Korea.

Now, both those smartwatches can administer ECG readings.

Samsung has also earned clearance for its blood pressure monitor in South Korea. For now, the sensor will sit dormant in The Galaxy Watch 3 until it’s approved by the FDA. If it receives the green light soon, it would be the first smartwatch from a big-name tech brand with a working blood pressure monitoring system.

Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 sleep tracking

In bed, the Galaxy Watch 3 benefits from Samsung’s partnership with the National Sleep Institute to provide wearers with insight on their REM cycle, plus a morning report on quality of sleep and tips on how to improve sleep.

In the nights I wore it to bed, I simultaneously tested the Apple Watch sleep tracking. Apple’s native sleep tracking app credited me with a bit more sleep and knew when I woke up in the middle of the night during monstrous thunderstorms, whereas Samsung responded with more actionable data.

Some of these insights are provided by the Galaxy Watch 3’s SpO2 sensor, or pulse oximeter. An SpO2 sensor can inform breathing disturbances while sleeping, which is a prevalent symptom of sleep apnea. I, for one, don’t have much trouble sleeping, but someone who does could learn how to take action on changing their sleep cycle with the Watch 3.

Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 review: Apps and storage

Tizen OS has a more limited library of third-party selections than the native Apple Watch App Store, but there are enough major programs like Uber and Spotify at your disposal.

And, with the Galaxy Watch 3’s 8GB of music storage, you can save tunes for offline play black with a Spotify Premium subscription. I’m not using an LTE model, so I look forward to having a few of my playlists available when I leave my phone at home for bike rides. I appreciate this feature about my Apple Watch 5, which has a larger 16GB storage capacity. I’ve already used up about half my Galaxy Watch 3’s storage with a few of my favorite playlists, though, so I’ll need to be mindful of offloading audio I don’t need anymore.

Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 battery life

Where the new Galaxy Watch seems to fall short of the previous model is battery life. Unlike the 4-day stamina of the original Galaxy Watch, the Galaxy Watch 3’s 340 mAh battery is rated for 2 days. That’s fair for smartwatch standards (the Apple Watch 5 only gets 18 hours) and likely contributes to the slimmed-down design.

samsung, galaxy, watch, review, premium

The Galaxy Watch 3 lives up to Samsung’s battery estimates. Even with hour-long workouts and sleep tracking in the first two days I wore it, the watch lasted about 2 days. However, when I enabled the always-on display setting, the battery life dropped to 24 hours in its second cycle. Still, this is better than my Apple Watch 5.

samsung, galaxy, watch, review, premium

When it needs more juice, the Galaxy Watch 3 can be charged with its proprietary charge or via wireless power share with a compatible Samsung phone. I tried out this charging cradle dock from Amazon for the sake of keeping my bedside table organized, too.

Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 verdict

The Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 stands out in a crowded wearable market. There are plenty of stylish smartwatches and excellent fitness trackers to choose from these days, and Samsung managed to strike a balance between the two. It brought the best health features of the Galaxy Watch Active 2 to a bezeled design that rivals offerings from timepiece savant Fossil.

But this convergence came at a cost — the Galaxy Watch 3 is more expensive than the Galaxy Watches and Wear OS Fossil options before it, and leans more towards lifestyle than fitness. I can’t say I’d replace my Apple Watch with an Android one at the same price. But if you’ve picked up an Android phone—in particular, one made by Samsung—and want an extension of it on your wrist wherever you go, you won’t find anything more polished and powerful than the Galaxy Watch 3. Or anything with as satisfying of a spinning mechanism, at least.

Samsung Galaxy Watch 5 Pro review: The best wearable for Android fans

Samsung’s Galaxy Watch 5 Pro brings a few minor improvements in hardware and software over other Galaxy Watch models, but is it good enough to replace a GPS sports watch?

Matthew Miller started using mobile devices in 1997 and has been writing news, reviews, and opinion pieces ever since. He was a co-host, with Kevin Tofel, of the MobileTechRoundup podcast for 13 years and authored three Wiley Companion series books.

  • Started using mobile technology in 1997. Evaluated hundreds of PDA, phones, tablets, and more that ran Palm, Linux, Symbian, Newton, BlackBerry, iOS, Android, webOS, Windows Mobile, and Windows Phone operating systems. An athlete who uses wearable technol

Matthew Miller started using mobile devices in 1997 and has been writing news, reviews, and opinion pieces ever since. He was a co-host, with Kevin Tofel, of the MobileTechRoundup podcast for 13 years and authored three Wiley Companion series books.

  • Started using mobile technology in 1997. Evaluated hundreds of PDA, phones, tablets, and more that ran Palm, Linux, Symbian, Newton, BlackBerry, iOS, Android, webOS, Windows Mobile, and Windows Phone operating systems. An athlete who uses wearable technol

Samsung Galaxy Watch 5 Pro

pros and cons

  • Lightweight titanium casing
  • Sapphire glass AMOLED display
  • Large enough battery for most users
  • Google Wear OS 3 app support
  • Limited, manual GPX process
  • Skin temperature not yet enabled
  • Blood pressure remains elusive in the US

Samsung announced two versions of its Galaxy Watch 5 last year, but unlike previous years where we saw a standard model and one with a physical rotating bezel, Samsung did away with the physical dial and introduced a new “Pro” model.

The Pro marketing of this watch is a bit over the top, with Samsung doing its fair share of promoting how much better the Watch 5 Pro is for outdoor adventures than the standard Watch 5 model. It physically has a harder sapphire glass display, titanium watch case, and a much larger capacity battery, so these may help it withstand a bit more abuse.

A couple of software features round out the “Pro” moniker such as the ability to import GPX files for hiking and biking while also having your return routes automatically mapped out for when you forget to do it yourself. For all of the details on how to use the new Route tile and GPX files, check out this detailed walk-through. It’s clear that the Galaxy Watch 5 Pro is not going to challenge your Garmin, Coros, or Polar GPS sports watch for serious outdoor adventures and desire for weekly charging, but it is the longest-lasting flagship smartwatch and will satisfy most casual athletes.

I’ve gone hiking, running, fishing, and sleeping with the Black Titanium Galaxy Watch 5 Pro over the past three weeks and have built a fair understanding of what Samsung is trying to do with the new watch. And while it may be the company’s latest smartwatch.- and the first to GoPro.- there are a few shortcomings that can be fixed with future software updates.

The 1.4-inch Super AMOLED display is gorgeous, with crisp fonts, brilliant colors, and a seamless touchscreen experience. With rugged, outdoorsy smartwatches, input delays and lag can be frequent. Not with the 5 Pro; Taps and swipes have performed flawlessly, and I am especially enjoying the default watch face options.

This year, the watch case is made with titanium and available in black or gray. You’ll have to buy the regular Watch 5 for the more lively colors. The speaker is oddly placed on the top of the watch.- where the bands sort of cover it.- while the microphone is found on the right side between the navigation buttons.

The default Band that shipped with the Watch 5 Pro is the new D-Buckle Sport Band, which is much better than the default Band I received with my Watch 4 Classic last year. It is a soft silicone Band that you adjust by sliding open a latch, fitting the Band, and then locking the latch. How secure is the new buckle? I have yet to see the Band pop open during any of my workouts or daily activities.

Two hardware buttons are positioned on the right side of the Galaxy Watch 5 Pro: A Home key and a Back key. A single press of the Home key takes you back to your default watch face. You can assign any app you want to a double press and long press of the Home key, so I have mine set to Google Wallet and Google Assistant, respectively. This integration and support for Google have transformed the Samsung Galaxy Watch experience into one that Android enthusiasts will be satisfied with.

Still, not everything is geared toward Google services. Samsung Pay is the default press-and-hold action of the Back key and there is currently no setting available to change this to Google Pay or any other application. Let’s hope Samsung provides a software update to allow customization of this button action, too.

Flipping the watch over we see the Samsung BioActive sensor that is used to capture your heart rate, bioelectrical impedance for blood pressure (not in the US), irregular heartbeat (ECG), blood oxygen levels, and more. To the left side of the back sensor unit is the skin temperature sensor but this has not been activated yet, so stay tuned for more on the tracking feature.

Google Wear OS powered by Samsung

When you first power on the Galaxy Watch 5 Pro, you’re greeted with a familiar Samsung wearable experience. There are the usual Tizen OS watch faces, tile UI elements, Samsung apps, Bixby, and more. The 5 Pro is clearly still a Galaxy Watch, and with Google Wear OS powering the software, the watch only gets better.

Open the app drawer and you will start to see why the Galaxy Watch 5 Pro running Wear OS is a game changer for Samsung and Google’s watch platform. I currently have the following installed that were not present on my past Galaxy Watch models: Google Wallet, Google Maps, Google Assistant, Google Fit, Gboard (yes, a keyboard for your watch), and more. Thanks to Wear OS, the Watch 5 Pro gains more functionality and access to some of my most widely-used apps across devices.

However, that’s not to say that the software experience.- particularly the Google Play Store.- is perfect. There were many times when I would search for watch-supported apps on my phone and would be presented with results that weren’t even compatible. This was because whenever I searched a keyword, the Google Play Store would jump out of its watch-filtered system and show me all results in the marketplace.- including mobile and tablet apps. My hopes for a Telegram or Starbucks app were dashed a couple of times.

To see which Wear OS apps you can confidently install on your Galaxy Watch 5 Pro, jump into the Play Store found directly on the watch itself. I found many more apps using the Play Store on the watch, including searching via voice to text.

Personalizing the Galaxy Watch experience

The Galaxy Watch 5 Pro is managed through two key Samsung apps: Galaxy Wearable and Samsung Health. To make the most out of your smartwatch, you’ll want to sync up with the two services, both of which are free but very beneficial.

    Galaxy Wearable: You’re presented with the basic Galaxy Watch information, including the watch name, its battery status, links to watch faces, settings, and more. It is within the app where you can adjust the elements of the Watch 5 Pro’s watch faces, including what metrics you’d like to appear on the home screen, and the color theming. There is even a compass index option in the Pro analog watch face to try out.

To encourage healthy habits, you can also start challenges with friends, gain achievements, and view weekly performance reports via Samsung Health. There is also a fitness section of Samsung Health where you can find programs provided by third-party services. There are not a ton of available programs, and many are targeted toward beginners, but it looks like a decent free service provided by Samsung Health.

The one real “Pro” feature: GPX tracking

The one “Pro” software feature of the Galaxy Watch 5 Pro is support for GPX for hiking and biking. GPX, or GPS Exchange Format File, is a file type that contains geographic info such as tracks, routes, and waypoints. It’s a bit odd that this is the FOCUS of the Watch 5 Pro when there is no support for trail running, mountain biking, or even running.

The first thing you are going to need is a GPX file for the location you plan to hike or bike. You can try searching online, but you will quickly realize that a third-party service subscription is required to create GPX files. Trailforks is a fairly affordable subscription with GPX files for popular hikes. Personally, I am a Strava subscriber.

The GPX support is interesting and if you build up a library of routes, it could be useful even for offline travel. However, my GPS sports watches have preloaded topographic maps and much longer battery life, so they are far more useful for hiking in the wilderness. It’s not clear if Samsung is going to prioritize GPX reading as much moving forward. I hope it does, because while the feature on the Watch 5 Pro is lacking compared to the sports watch market, it’s a great first step.

Samsung Galaxy Watch 5 Pro or Apple Watch Series 8?

There isn’t much point in comparing the Galaxy Watch 5 Pro to the Apple Watch Series 8 running WatchOS 9 since both models are exclusive to their respective operating systems and platforms. An Android user will find more benefits using the Galaxy Watch, while iOS users will feel at home with the Apple Watch.

That said, the Galaxy Watch 5 Pro beats the Apple Watch 8 in terms of battery life and body composition measurements. However, Apple’s WatchOS 9 brings better fitness support with running power from the wrist, better options for viewing data as you work out, more robust watch applications, and a powerful Apple Healthkit system.

Bottom line

The Galaxy Watch 5 Pro is available now for 449.99 in Black Titanium and Gray Titanium. Samsung offers compelling trade-in deals so I sent in my Galaxy Watch 4 Classic for a LTE Watch 5 Pro and shaved 140 off the price. The Watch 5 Pro has proven to be a perfect companion to my Galaxy Z Fold 4. I’ve held many calls on the watch, through Bluetooth and LTE connections, and enjoy having all of the Google apps on a Samsung watch.

The Watch 5 Pro easily lasts two full days, including tracking my sleep at night, and functions into the third day. This easily beats the Apple Watch 7 and 8 Series, but we will soon be testing it against the Apple Watch Ultra. The D-Buckle Band looks great, stays securely in place, and is very comfortable while the brilliant Super AMOLED display makes it easy for my aging eyes to interact with the watch.

The Samsung Galaxy Watch 5 Pro is easily the best wearable for Android smartphone owners and it excels in all of the smartwatch categories. It’s made with materials normally reserved for high-end GPS sports watches but is still priced at 450. Samsung may have missed on the “Pro” label, but the company nailed the watch and there is more coming in future updates. Android smartphone users no longer have to be envious of the Apple Watch and iPhone users.

Samsung Galaxy Watch 3. ОБЗОР СПУСТЯ МЕСЯЦ!

What are the pros and cons of the Samsung Galaxy Watch 5 Pro?

The pros of the Samsung Galaxy Watch 5 Pro are its lightweight titanium casing, sapphire glass AMOLED display, it has a large enough battery for most users, and it has Google Wear OS 3 app support.

The cons of the Samsung Galaxy Watch 5 Pro are it has a limited, manual GPX process, the skin temperature feature is not yet enabled, and the blood pressure feature remains elusive in the US.

Samsung Galaxy Watch 5 Pro or Apple Watch Series 8?

There isn’t much point in comparing the Galaxy Watch 5 Pro to the Apple Watch Series 8 running WatchOS 9 since both models are exclusive to their respective operating systems and platforms. An Android user will find more benefits using the Galaxy Watch, while iOS users will feel at home with the Apple Watch.

That said, the Galaxy Watch 5 Pro beats the Apple Watch 8 in terms of battery life and body composition measurements. However, Apple’s WatchOS 9 brings better fitness support with running power from the wrist, better options for viewing data as you work out, more robust watch applications, and a powerful Apple Healthkit system.

Samsung has announced the Galaxy Watch 3 Titanium

Though much of the spotlight is on Apple today, another company has quietly launched a new smartwatch variant today. Samsung has announced the Galaxy Watch 3 Titanium, marking the first titanium-based smartwatch for the company.

Whereas the first Galaxy Watch 3 models came with the traditional straps, the Titanium variant ships with military-grade titanium. Despite the new variant’s rugged design, the new model is both elegant and durable, making it perfect for both active and casual wear. The included aluminum strap sports a Mystic Black finish and a matte texture. It is also easily adjustable according to your wrist’s needs.

Underneath the new design, users will enjoy the same features available in the regular Galaxy Watch 3. Balanced with an improved Health app (with up to 120 video workouts), the smartwatch has advanced health detectors including VO2 max readings and on-demand SpO2 measurements. For safety, it also comes with fall detection, which contacts authorities automatically if the users is unresponsive.

technically, the Galaxy Watch 3 ships with a dual-core Exynos 9110 processor, 1GB of RAM, and 8GB of internal storage. It also comes with the Tizen-based Wearable OS 5.5.

The regular Galaxy Watch 3 still starts at US 399.99. Meanwhile, the Galaxy Watch 3 Titanium will start at US 599.99 starting October 2. It will launch in a 45mm Bluetooth variant.

Louis Vuitton Horizon Light Up Earphones Unboxing

expensive than your iPhone 14 Pro Max

How much should you pay for a good pair of wireless earbuds?

Michael Josh personally thinks it shouldn’t be more than 300.

However, this one from Louis Vuitton costs 5x more.

It’s even more expensive than an iPhone 14 Pro Max!

But is it even worth every penny?

OnePlus Buds Pro 2 review: Alert the Armory

Put everyone on notice. The OnePlus Buds Pro 2 might just be the best true wireless earbuds that OnePlus has to offer. And it has a legitimate claim to being one of the best at its price point.

To put things into perspective, the OnePlus Buds Pro 2 currently retails for PhP 9,990 / US 179. That’s a fraction of the price of more mainstream options like the Airpods Pro and Sony WF-1000XM4. The aforementioned devices both hover around US 200.

At a lower price you’re getting Active Noise Cancellation (ANC), Dual Drivers, a promise of up to 39 hours of playback, Hi-Res audio, fast charging, and something rarely found at this price point – Spatial Audio.

But we’re getting ahead of ourselves, let’s take a quick look at the packaging and design first.

“Dim the Headlights” (Unboxing and Design)

It starts with a stare. We’re both well aware. You’re pulling closer. Pulling me in.

Quick notes from the unboxing:

The box still has OnePlus’ signature red. The OnePlus Buds Pro 2 opens like a clamshell. Most other earbuds have a vertical orientation that opens from the top with the stems magnetically sliding into a couple of slots. Only real advantage is that it’s easier to put down on a table or on your palm without it feeling wobbly. That’s great for not losing your earbuds or its case.

Controlling the device is also pretty straightforward. You only need to pinch the stem. Once to play/pause, twice to play the next track, thrice to go back to the start of the current track or go back to the last track.

If you pinch and hold, you cycle through the ANC settings. That’s ANC to shut everyone out, Ambient, to hear what’s going on in your surroundings, and Zen to play relaxing audio that’s stored on the earbuds itself.

Nope, there are no volume controls. Perhaps that’s the biggest bummer on this pair of earbuds.

“A Method to Chaos” (Audio Features)

Voices aren’t loud enough. You’re tuning your ears, while waiting for something to hear.”

Perhaps the primary reason anyone splurges at all for earbuds is the Active Noise Cancellation (ANC) feature. ANC is implemented a little differently by each manufacturer and has varying degrees of success depending on the price point.

The best ones use both hardware and software to achieve a credible ANC. The OnePlus Buds Pro 2 does something similar. It promises to shut out up to 48dB of noise, provided you do the whole ear scan thing they have going on. The ear scanning thing isn’t new at all. If you’ve owned any pair of Smart earbuds, many manufacturers do this to help tune the device optimally for your pair of ears. If the more premium earbuds are a 9-10/10 on ANC, I’d say the OnePlus Buds Pro 2 are a solid 7-8/10. Not the best, but not a pushover either. It does enough to drown out sounds, especially when music is blasting. It just doesn’t achieve the same level of quiet when no music is playing. But that’s to be expected for something that’s relatively cheaper.

Spatial Audio is a nice little addition. But the feature on the OnePlus Buds Pro 2 specifically only works on Android 13 phones on YouTube and Disney. Might seem limited but it’s there and offers a different audio experience. Spatial Audio still feels a little gimmick but it tickles your ears just enough to make it interesting.

My favorite feature, however, is the support for Hi-Res audio. Specifically, the LHDC 4.05 codec which is the best you can get when streaming via Bluetooth. OnePlus also promised an update to support LHDC 5.0.

But I have a rather peculiar experience with Hi-Res audio.

“Evidence” (Pairing on OnePlus vs iPhone)

Caught you in the arms of another. I’ve been dying everyday since then.

I used the OnePlus Buds Pro 2 on both the OnePlus 11 and the iPhone 14 Pro Max. For some reason, the audio comes out better when paired on the iPhone 14 Pro Max. And this is across many apps: Spotify, YouTube, Apple Music, Netflix, and more.

I personally can’t give an explanation why. But this happened even after I did the whole audio personalization thing by OnePlus.

But I’m skipping ahead again. Pairing is naturally faster between OnePlus devices. You get the fast pair option that shows up without diving into the settings. And when the OnePlus devices are paired, you don’t need a separate app to access the more granular settings. That includes EQ, Game Mode, Dual Connection, and more.

When pairing with an iPhone 14 Pro Max, you have to go into the device’s settings first. And to access EQ, Game Mode, and other settings, you need to download the HeyMelody app.

Seems odd but that’s how it is. Also, with the iPhone 14 Pro Max, you don’t have access to the Spatial Audio settings.

But like mentioned earlier, Spatial is a nifty trick but one that I don’t think is made for more daily listening. For that purpose, I value the support for Hi-Res audio more. Which, in this case works so well on Apple Music played with an iPhone paired with the OnePlus Buds Pro 2.

It’s an unlikely combo but it works and one that I’ve been rocking with for the most part of my time with OnePlus’ earbuds.

Is this your GadgetMatch?

The OnePlus Buds Pro 2 has cemented its place as my primary in-ear earbuds, relegating my Freebuds Pro 2 as backup (Sorry, Huawei). Personally, it’s the Hi-Res audio that really does it for me. Listening to my favorite tracks, whether that’s rocking out to UrbanDub, dancing to TWICE, or just chilling to my favorite K-RnB titles, it felt like experiencing the music again.

samsung, galaxy, watch, review, premium

As for the other features, they’re what you can expect from earbuds at this price point. The ANC isn’t perfect but it’s more than good enough. The battery life hovers around the 39-hours advertised. Naturally, it’ll vary depending on your usage. Personally, I only charge once a week on moderate usage.

The OnePlus Buds Pro 2 is a good pick-up if you can’t splurge for the mainstream choices but want a feel of their premium audio features. The no volume control is a bummer if you plan on using this while working. But that’s a minor gripe on an otherwise excellent value device.

Author

Goltilar

| Denial of responsibility | Contacts |RSS